We’re looking for leaders!

NCBPA is governed by a volunteer (non-paid) Board of Directors comprised of industry professionals from member companies that lend their time and expertise to support our industry and members.  NCBPA’s Board holds monthly meetings via phone to coordinate industry initiatives and create more benefits and value for member companies.  About twice a year, Board Members meet in-person to strategize, learn from one another and make big plans for NCBPA and its members.

NCBPA is looking for experienced industry leaders to join our Board of Directors for 2020.  With a new Strategic Plan to implement, business operations to continue improving and a wealth of industry and member initiatives to deliver, it’s going to be a busy year!  Following a wealth of operations, strategic planning and financial activity led by our 2019 Board of Directors, we’re looking to restock and reload with industry leaders that can help NCBPA grow and prosper, to the benefit of our member companies and professionals!

If you’re interested, please fill out the short application below.  Our Founder & CEO, Ryan Miller, will be in touch with you promptly to discuss your interests and answer your questions.  Have a question now?  Contact us!

Board Positions

Chair:  The Chair is responsible for setting the tone at the top of NCBPA’s Board of Directors!  This person oversees the full Board of Directors and is responsible for ensuring proper oversight of the association’s business, staff and all activities.  The Chair leads the Executive Committee and serves a two-year term.

Vice-Chair:  The Vice-Chair can be referred to as the Chief Operating Officer of the association and is responsible for ensuring that the Board of Directors and staff are getting things done!  This person has a hand in all parts of NCBPA’s business including financials, membership recruitment, staffing and more.  The Vice-Chair is a member of the Executive Committee and serves a two-year term.

Treasurer:  The Treasurer is responsible for ensuring that NCBPA has a fiscally healthy and sustainable business in place.  This person oversees the association’s financial and accounting practices and works with the Chief Executive Officer and other staff to stay up-to-date on the association’s revenue, expenses and liabilities.  The Treasurer is a member of the Executive Committee and serves a two-year term.

Secretary:  The Secretary is the task-master of the Board of Directors and is responsible for scheduling meetings, tracking votes and ensuring that all Board Members have an opportunity to contribute via phone meetings, in-person meetings, email discussions and more.  The Secretary is a member of the Executive Committee and serves a two-year term.

Board Member:  All non-Executive Committee members of the Board of Directors are Board Members.  Each person may have a specialty that makes them a valued Board Member, or represent a specific trade in NCBPA’s membership.  Board Members participate in all meetings and contribute their voice, wisdom and experience wherever possible.  General Board Members serve a one-year term.

Detailed roles and responsibilities for NCBPA Board positions can be found in the below document:

What’s it like to serve on the Board?  Click on the articles below from the nation’s leading association leadership organization for more information:

What are we looking for in Board Members?  NCBPA’s Board requires 4 – 6 hours per month for emails, phone meetings and infrequent in-person meetings and events. 

  • Board Leadership is open to all NCBPA member professionals.
  • Prior Board experience is highly desired but not required.
  • Ability to listen, analyze, think clearly and creatively, and work well with people individually and in a group.
  • Willingness to prepare for and attend board and committee meetings, ask questions, take responsibility and follow through on a given assignment, contribute personal and company time and resources when able, open doors in the industry, advocate for the association, and evaluate oneself.
  • Interest in developing certain skills that you may not possess, such as in cultivating and soliciting funds, cultivating and recruiting board members and other volunteers, reading and understanding financial statements, and learning more about the substantive program area of the association.
  • Possession of honesty, sensitivity to and tolerance of differing views, community-building skills, personal integrity and sense of values, and concern for the association’s development.

Apply Today!

Simply fill out the form below to get the process started!  Once we receive your completed application, our Founder & CEO Ryan Miller will be in touch to discuss your interests and answer your questions!